Food Truth Freedom

Your food, where it comes from & what's in it

Eat Too Much on Thanksgiving? Forget the Pepto!

Were you and the turkey STUFFED on Thanksgiving?

On  Thanksgiving, many of you probably stuffed yourselves at the table & will continue to do so all weekend.  You  may find that you’ve got a good case of indigestion too, & feel awful because you overate.   There are some things that you can do to help yourself  that don’t involve taking drugs.  Herbal remedies are amazing!

Most people don’t know that herbs predated synthetic medicines and many of today’s drugs are derived from natural sources. Modern pharmacology came through ancient herbal knowledge. Physicians first used herbal tinctures & ground herbs.     Native Americans routinely used healing poultices and teas as did many other cultures the world over.  Medieval  ”Wise Ones” (Wicca or Witches) were burned at the stake for their practices of healing with herbal treatments.  These women were simply the healers, the physicians, of the day.  Even today, all over the world especially in remote areas, people turn to natural healing wonders of nature instead of modern-day drugs.

My ‘medicine cabinet’  doesn’t have medicines.  “Tums,®” “Alka Seltzer,®” Pepto Bismol®” and other  chemical remedies  aren’t in my household.  Well over 30 years ago these vanished from my shopping list.  I’ve found things that work better which aren’t artificial.

Peppermint is a wonderful soothing remedy for your guts when they’re in turmoil. It is known to relieve indigestion, gas, bloating.  In a pinch I’ve even used Peppermint Lifesavers® because of the peppermint oil in them.  Of course, I’m assuming here that you’ve just got a case of indigestion and not something more serious. *  Chamomile, with peppermint is an effective remedy when you’ve  over-eaten during the holidays.

One of my most memorable healing stories occurred while living in the Adirondack Park in upstate New York.  I had visitors from New York City for the weekend.  “Bobby,” a big strapping Italian guy from Brooklyn had wolfed down a huge amount of food along with copious amounts of beer.   Not long afterward he said, “Ugh.., I have such bad ‘agida.’  Whaddya got?  Pepto,  Alka Seltza, sumptin?”

Those of you unfamiliar with Brooklynese, it  meant he had a stomach ache, indigestion or heartburn.

 It was 9 at night. We’re in Bum F***ed Egypt in upstate New York where they roll up the sidewalks at 6 o’clock!  There wouldn’t be a store or pharmacy open for 100 miles. I didn’t have any Pepto anyway.  What I did have was my arsenal of herb jars and in one of them was my ”Tummy Tea”  herbal mixture.

After explaining to Bobby that there were no stores open nearby,  I told him what I did have.  He agreed to try it.  “It’s herbal tea.  It’s got nothing that’s going to hurt you,”  I said.  Thankfully he went along with it.

He drank the tea and (no surprise to ME) about 30 minutes later he exclaimed, “My agida… it’s GONE!  I don’t believe it! What WAS that stuff?”

“Just herbal tea like I said, Bobby.  I told you it would work, didn’t I?”

It’s extremely rare that I have ‘agida’ but when I do – out comes the “Tummy Tea,” of chamomile, peppermint and other herbs that are soothing to the stomach and intestines.

Nothing like a good, hot, soothing cup of herbal tea that helps to heal your entire body in a gentle, natural way.

*The suggested remedies included herein are not substitutes for professional medical attention for a serious or life-threatening conditions.

Author: B T Hylle

Humanitarian, environmental and food activist, blogging on current societal issues. My blogs cover what's in our food and how it affects our health; the effects of our seemingly small actions regarding chemical and pesticide use in and around our homes and its impact on our Earth.

Comments are closed.